Visit Store
Visit Store
Authors > Harvey Pass, MD

Harvey Pass, MD is Stephen E. Banner Professor of Thoracic Oncology; Vice Chair of Research NYUHC; Chief, Thoracic Oncology at NYU Cancer Center; Chief, Division of Thoracic Surgery; Departments of Cardiothoracic Surgery, New York University Langone Medical Center in New York City. He is a co-author of IASLC Thoracic Oncology, 2nd Edition.


Dr. Pass earned his medical degree from Duke University, after which he performed residencies in cardiothoracic surgery at the Medical University of South Carolina and the University of Mississippi. He performed a fellowship in cardiothoracic surgery at the National Institute of Health and he is board certified in thoracic surgery.


Dr. Pass has dedicated his career to bringing increased awareness of the dangers of asbestos exposure and its causal relationship to pleural mesothelioma to both the medical community and the public at large. He helped found the Meso Foundation in 1998, and has served as a Lung Cancer Alliance Board member and Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board at the Meso Foundation.


Since 2002, Dr. Pass has authored or coauthored 72 articles directly related to mesothelioma treatment. In his position as Chief of the Division of Thoracic Surgery at NYU Langone Medical Center, Dr. Pass oversees a laboratory at Bellevue Hospital that conducts research funded by the National Cancer Institute, including the new Mesothelioma Pathogenesis Program Project. He has also established a three-year Thoracic Fellowship Training Program at NYU for individuals interested in general thoracic surgery.


Dr. Pass has held numerous positions in professional associations, has served as guest reviewer for major medical journals and publications, has served as a consultant to private companies and well as public agencies and foundations, and has received the Castle Connolly America’s Top Doctors award for numerous consecutive years. Dr. Pass has also discovered potential genetic factors in mesothelioma, as well as conducted research essential to the rise of immunotherapy. He was awarded the National Institutes of Health Director’s Award in 1991.

Leave A Comment