Visit Store
Visit Store
Authors > Bruce M. Koeppen, MD

Bruce M. Koeppen, MD, PhD, received his MD from the University of Chicago in 1977 and his PhD in physiology from the University of Illinois in 1980.  After completing a research fellowship at Yale University in 1982, he joined the faculty of the University of Connecticut School of Medicine, where he served as a Professor in the departments of Medicine and Cell Biology. While at the University of Connecticut he held the administrative position of Dean for Academic Affairs.  In that position, Dr. Koeppen oversaw all educational and research programs in the School of Medicine. On November 1, 2010, he joined Quinnipiac University as the founding dean of its new School of Medicine, the Frank H. Netter, M.D., School of Medicine.

Dr. Koeppen has served on a number of state and national education-related committees and organizations, including the United States Medical Licensing Examination Composite Committee, the Executive Board of the National Board of Medical Examiners, the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education, and the State of Connecticut Advisory Council on Graduate Medical Education. Most recently he was as a member of the Liaison Committee on Medical Education, and served as the chair of its accreditation standards committee.

Dr. Koeppen is a recognized educator. In addition to co-authoring Renal Physiology, 5th Edition he is a contributing author and editor of Berne & Levy Physiology, 6th Edition. His other books include Berne and Levy’s Principles of Physiology, and Netter’s Atlas of Human Physiology.  He has received numerous teaching awards from students at the University of Connecticut Schools of Medicine and Dental Medicine. At the national level, he was the 1995 recipient of the Arthur C. Guyton Teaching Award from the American Society of Physiology, and the 1998 recipient of the Association of American Medical Colleges and the Alpha Omega Alpha – Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teaching Award.  In 1999 the Board of Trustees of the University of Connecticut recognized him for outstanding achievement as a result of his efforts in leading the faculty of the School of Medicine through a comprehensive revision of its curriculum.

In 2002, Dr. Koeppen received the Distinguished Service award from the University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine, and that same year he was named as the 2002 co-recipient of the Frances M. Maitland-PACME award from the Alliance for Continuing Medical Education. In 2009 he was named an inaugural member of the University of Connecticut’s Academy of Distinguished Educators.

Related Author: John T. Hansen, PhD