Visit Store
Visit Store
News & Articles > Elsevier Congratulates its British Medical Association Award Winning Medical Authors

Elsevier is pleased to announce that 19 of its professional and scholarly products were honored at the annual BMA Medical Book Competition ceremony in London on the 13th September 2012. A total of 681 products from various publishers were entered in this year’s competition and 138 prizes were awarded with 21 first prizes, and 117 highly commended prizes.

Elsevier’s Netter’s Neurology, 2/e by Drs. H. Royden Jones, Jayashri Srinivasan, Gregory Allam, Richard Baker, edited by the Lahey Clinic won the BMA Illustrated Book Award. Its reviewer commented that, “It communicates often very difficult areas of neurology quite simply, and builds on basics to advanced understanding. I’ve never seen such well-thought-out and informative illustrations with such detail in another neurology book of this type. It does not take long to ascertain that this is a high quality book with not only content to a high standard but also the way it is presented to a learner. I have not seen any others which can compete.”

First prizes were also awarded to Elsevier in the following categories:

  • Digital and Online Resource: Netter’s Anatomy Atlas for iPad
  • Anesthesia:  Ward’s Anaesthetic Equipment, 6th edition by Drs. Andrew Davey and Ali Diba
  • Oncology:  Clinical Radiation Oncology, 3rd edition by Drs. Leonard Gunderson and Joel Tepper
  • Pediatrics: Illustrated Textbook of Paediatrics, 4th edition by Drs. Tom Lissauer and Graham Clayden

“I’m thrilled that Illustrated Textbook of Paediatrics won the First Prize in Paediatrics at the BMA Medical Book Awards. It’s really satisfying to find that our textbook is so widely used by medical students and paediatric residents not only in the United Kingdom and Northern Europe but also in India and many countries throughout the world,” said Tom Lissauer, MB, BChir, FRCPCH.

“We congratulate all of the winners and especially thank all of the authors, editors and Elsevier publishing staff who have worked on these prize-winning titles,” said Linda Belfus, Senior Vice President Global Medicine Group at Elsevier. “This is an amazing achievement and reflects our dedication to developing and delivering quality content.”

Highly Commended prizes were also awarded to Elsevier in the following categories:

  • Basic and Clinical Sciences: Medical Physiology by Drs. Walter Boron and Emile Boulpaep
  • Basic and Clinical Sciences: Principles of Medical Biochemistry, 3rd edition by Drs. Gerhard Meisenberg and William Simmons
  • Basic and Clinical Sciences: The Developing Human, 9th edition by Drs. Keith L. Moore, N. Persaud, and Mark Torchia
  • Digital and Online Resource: Netter’s 3D Interactive Anatomy
  • Internal Medicine: Practical Haematology, 11th edition by Drs. Barbara Bain, Imelda Bates, Mike A Laffan, and S. Mitchell Lewis
  • Medicine: Allergy, 3rd edition by Drs. Stephen Holgate, Martin Church, David Broide, and Fernando Martinez
  • Neurology:  Netter’s Neurology, 2nd edition by Drs. H. Royden Jones, Jayashri Srinivasan, Gregory Allam, Richard Baker
  • Pediatrics: Golden Hour: The Handbook of Advanced Pediatric Life Support, 3rd edition by Drs. David G. Nichols, Myron Yaster, Charles Schleien, and Charles N. Paidas
  • Pediatrics: Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 19th edition by Drs. Robert M. Kliegman, Bonita M.D. Stanton, Joseph St. Geme, Nina Schor, and Richard E. Behrman
  • Pathology: Pathology of the Lungs, 3rd edition by Drs. Bryan Corrin and Andrew Nicholson
  • Pathology: MacSween’s Pathology of the Liver, 6th edition by Drs. Alastair Burt, Bernard C. Portmann, and Linda Ferrell, MD
  • Radiology: Clinical Ultrasound, 3rd edition by Drs. Paul Allan, Grant Baxter, and Michael J. Weston
  • Radiology: Presentation, Imaging and Treatment of Common Musculoskeletal Conditions by Drs. Mark D. Miller and Timothy Sanders
  • Surgical Specialties: Cancer of the Skin, 2nd edition by Drs. Darrell Rigel, June Robinson, Merrick Ross, Robert Friedman, Clay Cockerell, Henry Lim and Eggert Stockfleth
  • Surgical Specialties: Clinical Ophthalmology: A Systematic Approach, 7th edition by Drs. Jack Kanski and Brad Bowling

For more information about the Awards, visit the BMA website:

Leave A Comment