Visit Store
Visit Store
Authors > Andrew I. Schafer, MD

Andrew I. Schafer, MD received his medical degree from the University of Pennsylvania, completed his internal medicine residency at the University of Chicago, and his fellowship in hematology at the Peter Bent Brigham Hospital. After remaining at the Brigham and as Associate Professor of Medicine at Harvard, he moved to Houston in 1989 to become Chief of Medicine of the Houston VA Medical Center and then Chairman of the Department of Medicine at Baylor College of Medicine. In 2002 he became the Frank Wister Thomas Professor and Chairman of the Department of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Schafer assumed his current position in May, 2007, as the E. Hugh Luckey Distinguished Professor and Chairman of the Department of Medicine at Weill Cornell Medical College and Physician-in-Chief of the New York Presbyterian Hospital-Weill Cornell Medical Center.

Dr. Schafer is the author of over 220 original articles and the editor of 5 textbooks in the field of hemostasis, thrombosis and hematology. He edited a book entitled The Vanishing Physician-Scientist? published by Cornell University Press in October 2009. He is currently co-editor, with Dr. Lee Goldman, of Goldman’s Cecil Medicine, 24th Edition.

Dr. Schafer’s clinical expertise is in the area of hematology, coagulation and thrombosis. He has made important research contributions to the field of hemostasis and vascular cell biology. He was the principal investigator of NIH grants for 30 consecutive years, and served on the Board of Extramural Advisors of the NHLBI. Dr. Schafer has been elected to membership in the American Society for Clinical Investigation (for which he served as Secretary-Treasurer), the Association of American Physicians, fellowship in the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and membership in the Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academies.  Dr. Schafer was the 2007 President of the American Society of Hematology and was President of the Association of Professors for Medicine, 2010-2011.

Related Author: Lee Goldman, MD