Visit Store
Visit Store
Authors > Anton N. Sidawy, MD, MPH

Anton N. Sidawy, MD, MPH is Professor and Lewis B. Saltz Chair of Surgery, The George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Washington, D.C. He is a co-author of Rutherford’s Vascular Surgery and Endovascular Therapy, 9th Edition.


Dr. Sidawy attended medical school at Aleppo University School of Medicine. He completed his residency at Washington Hospital Center and finished his vascular surgery fellowship at Boston University Hospital. He also obtained a MPH in Health Care Administration from George Washington University, and is board certified in Vascular Surgery and General Surgery.


Dr. Sidawy has a special interest in the management of lower extremity diabetic vascular disease. With writings that span clinical, research, and educational fields, he has edited two textbooks, published more than 115 peer-reviewed articles, authored or co-authored over 40 chapters and numerous abstracts, and made several national and international presentations. In addition, Dr. Sidawy currently serves as the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Vascular Surgery and is on the editorial boards of the Annals of Vascular Surgery, Vascular, and Perspectives in Vascular Surgery and Endovascular Therapy.


Dr. Sidawy recently concluded a six-year term as a Governor of the American College of Surgeons and a term as the president of the Society for Vascular Surgery.  Currently, he is the president of the Vascular Disease Foundation, a multispecialty organization with a mission to improve the awareness of vascular disease and health and the umbrella organization of the PAD coalition and the Venous Disease coalition.


He is the recipient of a number of awards and honors, including The LaSalle D. Lefall award for “outstanding contributions to the profession of surgery and to the entire metropolitan Washington community” from the Metropolitan Washington Chapter of the American College of Surgeons. In addition, the Chapter has named a lectureship after Dr. Sidawy for his over 20 years of service to the Chapter. In 2009, the New York Vascular Surgery Fellows Competition Award was named after Dr. Sidawy.

Leave A Comment